3-D model of Team TAJ’s Insignia Plate and the process of hollowing it out

 

Hello dear readers! Sorry for the absence in updating the blog, I have been busy with life in general plus school so my time has been strained, but now that I have time to post, I will be able to show you guys the work I have accomplished!

 

Finishing a new Front Plate (Insignia Plate) took me about another 2 weeks to create as I was teaching myself how to create more complex designs using Autodesk Fusion 360, as this design required harder concepts, such as placing sketch planes at different places on a sphere instead of a flat surface.

After finalizing the design of the Insignia Plate, I uploaded it onto shapeways.com but I was astonished to see that the full design cost nearly $1,000.00.

I consulted with my team about this and I decided on hollowing out the design in hopes of reducing the cost. Hollowing out the design took about 2 days, and after I finished, I re-uploaded the hollowed out version of the Insignia Plate, but it was still +$100.00, to which was still too expensive for us.

Fortunately, I found out about a new website called https://www.3dhubs.com/ in which the site helped me find local 3-D printing facilities that were actually close and were able to ship it to us at a lower cost.

The new website, https://www.3dhubs.com/, presented a bunch of different facilities that were close to me. I chose a 3-D printing facility called i-SOLIDS’s hub, which was the cheapest option for us, at a compared lower cost of $31.22.

Here are the isometric views of the final model Insignia Plate that were hollowed out:

Screenshot (2)Screenshot (3)

Leave a Reply

